The 4.30 Bus….

3.30 am, Mysore bus stand.

 

I had to light up a cigarette to get rid of the 6 hours bus journey from Kukke Subramanya.

As usual there were no buses to Gudallur before 4.30 am, I thought why can’t I make it as a creative morning and lighted one more cigarette (Sorry that was the only creativity I knew). Now i have three left in my packet and I know i have to dumb the rest before I reach home. So the waiting has started, a short waiting for a surprise visit to home.

 

As cloak ticked  4.15 the bus came and parked in its bay. I entered and took one of the back seat, there were not much of passengers in the bus just some college students going back home for Christmas vacation. Obviously there were some couples too. You know college couples right ? they wont  miss a chance to put a hand on the other one’s shoulder or any place. Bus started around 4.30 and I started to feel cold from the breeze that came through the unfinished glass windows of TNSRTC’s ‘Parivahan’. Never mind I decided to just enjoy the trip. Ride on, the dim and bright lights of two axle monster started searching some two legged weird animals on its way. I am damn sure if the monster is driven by the same two legged animal with the same attitude, the monster never gonna leave any of that two legged species with their precious life.

 

It reached near Gundalpet suddenly there were some merchants started to load their stuffs into the bus. I had to put my luggage under the seat to make a way for them. They were old men and women, but the intresting thing was not that, as soon as they entered it started smell great. The aroma of puthina and curry leaves suddenly started to penetrate the nostrils of every noses that sat close to these goods. They were chatting some thing about some thing, thats the only conclusion I could reach from their conversation because I did not get any word they were speaking. Don’t worry I am not duff they were talking in Kannada and in some weird slang.

 

But the smell was great, It refreshed my every senses. Suddenly I started feeling rejuvenated and my sleeps starts eluding me. They were all seems to be very happy even with this odd working hour, they were aged and they must have been sleeping home safely now but they are working. May be they had to,.They paid some extra cash to the conductor to let them transfer these stuffs. My brain started to think so many things like how much would they earn ?, where will they sell this ?, from where did they buy these ? but I never disturbed them with my trivial questions. Sat in my seat just enjoyed the aroma and the cold breeze. The thought of going home and having my Umma’s beef  is started to take me to unknown place called heaven. May be that was one of the best morning travel I ever had in my life. 

They got down in different stops and continued my journey…

 

Leave a comment